Page Formating Only

Hullwebs History of Hull


The Distant Water Challenge Shield


The Hull Distant Water Challenge Shield was awarded from 1967 until 1977 to the Skipper and Crew of the trawler with the greatest value of catch for the year, on a points basis. These were calculated by adding the number of kits caught to the grossing in £s and dividing by the registered speed of the vessel.

Challenge Shield Winners
1967 T. Thresh Arctic Brigand Additional Information
1968 B. Wilson Primella Additional Information
1969 D. Taylor/W. Brettell Somerset Maugham Additional Information
1970 G. Boyce Kingston Emerald Additional Information
1971 G. Atherton/J. Russell Kingston Beryl Additional Information
1972 J. Berry Ross Trafalgar Additional Information
1973 N. Beaves/B. Ashcroft Ross Altair Additional Information
1974 W. Brettell Hammond Innes *
1975 D. Taylor Hammond linnes *
1976 D. Taylor C. S. Forester *
1977 W. Brettell C. S. Forester *

*The Stern trawlers Hammond Innes and C. S. Forester were allowed to participate in the challenge shield as they were freshers, not freezers.

Sponsor This Site

Top of Page

All content Copyright © 2004 - Hullwebs (UK) - Terms of Use

A very special thanks to Hull Local Studies Library for their help with our research projects.